6th Blog

TASK: Write a short creative piece of poetry or prose that reflects your own feelings about an event, such as the Appin Massacre.

It was in the newspapers that I first heard about the Appin Massacre. I had read about what had happened and the papers rustled and crinkled in my hands as I scrunched them up in anger and hate. I felt all the blood rush to my head as I scrunched up the paper in my hands so tight because I just couldn’t believe what I was reading. I felt my cheeks heat up and I felt as if my ears had steam coming out of my ears. I looked down at my tightly-clenched hands and saw they were as white as snow and could also feel my nails starting to dig into my skin, as if they were starting to make marks. I could also feel a strange feeling inside, twisting my heart and I couldn’t quite put my finger on what this unknown feeling was. Then the light bulb came on – it was disgust. It was disbelief. It was disgust to my own race, my people, it was disbelief that I couldn’t believe that it had happened, that one human had ordered other humans to execute a whole other bunch of humans. I don’t think  had ever felt these feelings towards anyone ever before and this execution was like a huge slap in the face, as I read about just how much damage could be done to human beings by other human beings – by human nature.

 

4 thoughts on “6th Blog

  1. Riley Powers says:

    Hi Felicity,

    I really enjoyed reading your 1st person perspective of the character’s anger of the Appin Massacre. I’m not sure if this was on purpose but i really liked how the sentence structure of being very blunt and short, this made the tone seem outraged. I feel that the persona is very personal to the insight of the Indigenous Australians which is a pressure to read a post from the time period that there was disgust among the white settlers over this issue. I also like the concept that you place at the end of unity that we all apart of “Human Nature”. Well done on your blog, I really enjoyed reading it 🙂

    Like

  2. louihall says:

    Hi Felicity,
    An interesting creative response to the Appin Massacre, I think the perspective of narration you have taken was very clever. Perhaps you could further develop a sense of the cultural climate of 1816. It is possible that this response in the white community during that time would have felt very conflicting to the protagonist. A development of character would be very interesting.
    Also, be mindful of your use of language for example ‘feel a strange feeling inside’ is repetitive. There were a few sentences that could be further refined.
    Overall, well done!

    Like

Leave a Reply

